“Beautiful Creatures” –A Book/Movie Rant

beautiful creatures

“Beautiful Creatures” by Kami Garcia is a paranormal teen book that has gotten RAVE reviews…and I just don’t get it. While I did actually somewhat enjoy reading this book, it was a bit tedious. This entire series has great potential to be a phenomenal supernatural story, but due to the over explaining of EVERYTHING, it misses the mark. Each book could be summed up in about 300 pages verses the 600+.

Ethan Wate lives in the small town of Gatlin, South Carolina, smack in the middle of the Bible Belt, where nothing out of the ordinary ever happens. And he hates every minute of it. With his mother’s recent death, and his father’s evasion of life since the accident, Ethan’s only companions are his best friend Link, and his superstitious nanny, Amma—a “Seer” who can see the future and contact the spirits of her deceased family.

When Lena Duchannes arrives in Gatlin to live with her eccentric uncle, Macon Ravenwood (the notorious recluse), the town gets a little shaken up. Of course, the snooty debutant-type girls at school automatically hate this not-so-prissy-prim-and-proper new comer and label her a freak, doing everything in their power to make her life a living hell. Little do they know, they weren’t that far off the mark—Lena and her family are Castors (universally known as witches).

For months before Lena actually arrived in Gatlin, Ethan had been dreaming about her—literally. So naturally, he’s immediately obsessed with the girl and learns all about her not-so-normal life. In the Castor world of Kami Garcia’s books, Castors’ powers are claimed by the moon for either the light or the dark upon your Sixteenth birthday, and Lena is terrified of going dark, like her mother.

Of course there is an entire past legend/mystery that unfolds, linking Ethan’s life and ancestors to Lena’s. A new drama develops every few chapters or so, such as Lena’s “dark” cousin Ridley (who is a Siren) showing up and seducing Ethan’s best friend Link, persuading him to do her bidding with each suck of her lollipop. No, really…a lollipop. It’s not a dirty metaphor for anything.

Again, I didn’t entirely hate this series. It has serious cool potential and characters…this quote is one of my favorite descriptions of Lena Duchannes: (She’s sounds like a badass chic that I could totally get along with.)

“She was wearing a purple T-shirt, with a skinny black dress over it that made you remember how much of a girl she was, and trashed black boots that made you forget.”

There is also a touch of snark and wit here and there in the novels, which I appreciated:

“If a girl says not to get her a birthday present that means get me a birthday present and make sure it’s jewelry.”

Thus, to end my rant, I will say that if you have HOURS of your life to waste, go ahead and pick up “Beautiful Creatures” and give it a whirl…it’s not completely terrible. But if you are like me, and have the attention span of a ferret, skip this one and read something a little more stimulating. (If you need recommendations, just ask! I have them coming out the wazoo!)

Alas, the movie was the same as the book…it took WAY too long to end! I was intrigued for about the first 30 minutes or so, but then I found myself becoming bored and restless. There just doesn’t need to be that much extra “stuff” to get the point of the story across.

*The horrible southern accents were quite entertaining, though 😛

10 thoughts on ““Beautiful Creatures” –A Book/Movie Rant

  1. FEY Kegs says:

    I like this post, I have never seen beautiful creatures or read the book with all the hype it was getting I thought it’d be a hit but the storyline reminded me of twilight. What did you like about the movie vs the book and what did you dislike too. Reply when you canxxx

    • To be honest, I liked and disliked them equally. The movie was visually pretty, and the horrid accents made us laugh, but it dragged on just as bad as the book. I liked a few of the characters in the book that were eliminated in the movie (because Jesus, the movie would have lasted for a year and a day if they had added anything else in). I did not like that they completely changed the ending in the movie, just because I knew how it was supposed to end, but honestly, it didn’t really matter.
      I say if you are bored at home one night, wait for the movie to come out on DVD and rent it from Redbox, or your local library. I wouldn’t waste time on the book, unless you just really want to read the series.
      I’ve read books 1-3, because I hate quitting a series (no matter how bad it is), but I just haven’t been able to make myself pick up and read book 4 yet :\

  2. […] “Beautiful Creatures” – A Book/Movie Rant (igeekteenbooks.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] “Beautiful Creatures” – A Book/Movie Rant (igeekteenbooks.wordpress.com) […]

  4. I tried reading it when it first came out and couldn’t get into it. Then, I saw it everywhere…then the film is being is made…and due to be released…so I gave it another go, because I might have missed something and I like to think I’m big enough to admit my own mistakes.
    I think I managed an additional 50 pages.
    ‘Nuff said.

    • I honestly don’t know how I managed to read THREE of the books! I think I kept doing the same thing you did, “Oh, they’re wildly popular and everyone raves over them…I must have just thought I didn’t like them. I’ll try again.”
      I STILL can’t make myself pick up the fourth book and read it…even though I bought it over a year ago :\

Leave a Reply

