“Death and the Girl Next Door”—A Book Review

9780312625207_p0_v1_s260x420

Death and the Girl Next Door by Darynda Jones was a surprisingly entertaining read.

The plot is pretty much ridiculous, but the writing is very smart. The wit and humor in this book had me laughing out loud on nearly every page.

Lorelei’s parents disappeared ten years ago, and she has been living with her grandparents ever since, in the small town of Riley’s Switch, New Mexico. With her (also incredibly short) best friends, Brooklyn and Glitch, life isn’t completely horrible. At least her band of misfits keep her entertained.

Oh yeah, and Lorelei sometimes has visions when she touches someone. While at their favorite coffee shop hangout one day, Lorelei accidentally touches a stranger’s arm on the way to the bathroom and has the most bizarre vision ever—one that involves said gorgeous stranger battling a beast-monster.

And to top of the weird vision, her classmate since kindergarten, Cameron, has taken to stalking her. Like really stalking her, lurking outside of her house all night and whatnot. And when the gorgeous new stranger shows up at their school as a new student, it appears that Cameron has a bone to pick with him. The new guy, Jared, is interested in Lorelei and Cameron is determined not to let him get anywhere near her.

Sounds like your typical teenage love triangle novel right? Wrong.

Turns out Jared is some kind of Reaper and comes to Earth to collect souls…or something like that. And Cameron is some kind of not-quite-entirely-human being, hell bent on not letting Jared take Lorelei.

Like I said, the plot isn’t really all that great, but the fun and quippy dialogue more than makes up for it. It at least amused me enough to want to read the sequel. All in all, I give this book three out of five stars.

 

Here is a steamy scene to tantalize your taste buds:

 “And Jared’s hand on my back pulled me closer, molded me to him. The kiss deepened. He slid his tongue along my mouth, and I parted my lips to let him enter. When his tongue slipped inside, a tingling sensation raced through me. It pooled deep in my abdomen, liquid and hot.

He pulled me tighter and walked me back to a wall, pushed me against it and pressed into me. His body, solid and strong, felt like molten steel against mine. His lungs labored as he explored my mouth with his tongue. I savored his taste, sweet like candy.

Bracing one hand against the wall, he tore away from the kiss. But he didn’t let me go. Instead, he placed his forehead on the wall beside me, panting, his muscles constricted as if in pain. “I’m sorry,” he said, his voice husky and soft.”

Leave a Reply

